Back to list

St. Andrews is Scotland's first university and the third oldest in the English-speaking world, and it celebrated it’s 100 years in 2013.

The institution is set on a rocky headland overlooking the waters of the North Sea. Inland lie the fields and wooded hills of the Kingdom of Fife.

The town of St. Andrews is filled with historical monuments and buildings which dates back  to thousands of years where it has been a focal point for bishops and kings, saints and martyrs.  Walking or biking around town is highly encouraged in order to fully experience the rich history and culture in town. However, amidst the rich culture in the area, modern botiques and shops an also be found within the town. There are dorms for students, bakeries, well-known supermarkets, dozens of cafés, pubs, restaurants, the Byre Theatre, bookshops, mobile phone outlets,  and a range of high street fashion and shoe shops.

The undergraduate degrees offered in the institution are studied full time over four years. They also operates a modular degree system. Modules are self-contained courses which usually run for one semester. Different modules are worth different amounts of credit; passing the module gains you the appropriate number of credits that will count towards the total requirement for the student’s degree (Hounours=480). To reach the total amount within 4 years, a student usually takes modules worth 120 credits in each year of study.

The institution comprises of four faculties namely: Faculty of Arts, Faculty of Divinity, Faculty of Medicine, and the Faculty of Science.


Schools within the Faculty of Arts

  • Art History
  • Classics
  • Economics
  • English
  • Film Studies
  • History
  • International Relations
  • Management
  • Modern Languages
  • Philosophy

Degrees Awarded in the Faculty of Arts

  •  MA (Master of Arts) 
  • BA (International Honours)
  •  MA (Master of Arts)

Degrees Awarded in the Faculty of Divinity

  • MTheol (Master of Theology) 
  • BD (Bachelor of Divinity) 

Degree Awarded in the Faculty of Medicine

  • BSc (Bachelor of Science) Honours 

Schools within the Faculty of Science

  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Computer Science
  • Geography & Geosciences
  • Mathematics
  • Physics & Astronomy
  • Psychology & Neuroscience

Degrees awarded in the Faculty of Science

  • BSc (Bachelor of Science) Honours 
  • MSci (Master in Science) Honours 
  • MChem (Master in Chemistry) Honours 
  • MPhys (Master in Physics) Honours
  • MMath (Master of Mathematics) Honours
  • MGeol (Master in Geology) Honours 
  •  BSc (General Bachelor of Science) 


Most of the subjects a student studies during their time at the University will be offered by the Schools within their own Faculty, so a prospective student should choose to undertake a degree from a Faculty whose offered academic subjects interests them the most.  However, there aresome subjects offered in the Faculty of Arts and Science which are called cross-faculty subjects. These include: Economics, Geography, Management, Mathematics, Psychology, Sustainable Development.


To know more about the undergraduate, postgraduate, and non-degree corses at St. Andrews, please visit their official website:

For more information, please contact us at or call 940 9525.



If you're ready to begin a new adventure abroad, you've come to the right place. Start your journey, or explore more to find out what UKEAS can do for you!
By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies. Click here for our full privacy policy